Woo, it’s the weekend.

Despite excellent intentions to spring clean the kitchen and bathroom and do lots of financial performance revision, Andrew and I have so far spent today watching the BBC version of Pride & Prejudice. hashtagproductivityfail.

However, we have just found out that next week, our bathroom is getting ripped out and a new one is being installed. 1. YAY. 2. Do we need to clean now, really?

It’s been leaking really badly into our kitchen, so our kitchen ceiling is getting bits of it cut out and replaced, then skimmed, and the kitchen walls are being redecorated. Quite excited to get rid of the textured wallpaper that currently graces the walls! We get to choose colours, so although I’ll stick to “safe” neutrals on the whole, I may go for a dusty shade of green for a small wall in the kitchen.

Does anybody have a routine for cleaning that they stick to on a weekly basis? We are sooo rubbish at keeping on top of it, and always seem to end up sitting reading instead of cleaning the woodwork or insert other menial task here. But I would love to get into a proper routine that means the house is clean all the time with as minimal amount of effort from me as possible ^_^ ha. I enjoy it sometimes, but after a week stressing out at work and then 2-20 hours a week studying (depending how close an exam is), I just can’t face having to do a whole pile of cleaning as well.

Image

So, I’ll just go finish my book instead.

6 thoughts on “Woo, it’s the weekend.

  1. Ha, I can’t tell you how true that quotes rings in! But I wish I actually had an excuse of being to busy. Mine’s usually laziness. Oh well ;)
    xo TJ

    • Lol, you only live once and all that. My mum has a fridge magnet that goes something like “Dull women have immaculate houses” that comforts me when I’m reading instead of cleaning, ha :) thanks so much for stopping by! xx

  2. I can completely understand the appeal to read more than clean! I’m not an expert but maybe do one big clean to get everything sorted and then to keep on track of it, do the dishes every night and polish/hoover every two days? I don’t know. Wish I could help more lol!

    • It sounds like a great plan in theory, I’m just so rubbish at keeping to it! Something needs to be done though, I’m terrible at starting it and then getting distracted by something else half-way through. I can no longer use the excuse that we are “just getting settled in” either, we’ve lived in our “new” house for almost a year! Oops!

      • I know how you feel. I was like that with revising! Getting started is always hardest but hopefully once you do it a few times you’ll get into the swing of it! Maybe try promising yourself a treat once you’ve done something? Eg. I’ll read my book after I finish the dishes or I’ll blog a bit once I’ve polished lol!

      • Good idea, I’ll have to give it a try :) housework is taking a back seat until after my exam next Wednesday – lots of cramming going on right now!

Leave a Reply

