Crazy days

Escape Attempt

Andrew and I are heading for a quiet weekend away together, so last night we dropped Dougal off at my mum’s. He was totally hyper-active all evening. ALL. EVENING. And he’s a pretty big dog, so his hyper-activity is hard work to put it mildly. Even after we left he was driving my mum and my mum’s dog, Charlie, totally mad.

This morning, I spent an hour doing some work in Costa Coffee before heading to my new place of work for staff prayer and breakfast.

Enter a hysterical text message from my mother – BOTH DOGS HAVE ESCAPED. YOUR DAD IS AT THE DOCTOR’S ON THE OTHER SIDE OF TOWN AND CAN’T COME AND HELP.

I didn’t take much notice, and carried on my merry way. An hour later, the dogs were still missing and mother dearest was having a major panic attack. We had this phone call:

Me: I’m just leaving the Malt Cross, I need to ring work and tell them I’ll be late in, I’m going to try and get to yours and find the dogs.

Mum: Ok, I don’t know where they are or what to do. I don’t know how they got out. I was in the bathroom and I looked outside and they were gone.

Me: It’s fine. I’ll be there as soon as I can. Ring the police and tell them what has happened, and then ring the local pound and let them know.

Mum: I don’t think there is a pound.

Me: Mum, it’s a major city, of course there is a pound; where do you think all the stray dogs are?

Mum: ….

Anyway, it turned out I had to be at work and couldn’t get to my mum’s – thankfully, both rascals turned up a few streets down. An elderly lady had managed to bribe both of them into her house, and she rang the dog warden to report that she had found them just as my mum was on the phone to him reporting them missing. So it all worked out in the end.

Tonight, Andrew and I are heading away for a couple of days. I’m hoping that a “Friday Favourites” post will be published automatically tomorrow, but it’s the first time I’ve ever done it so excuse me if it doesn’t work.

What are you doing for the next few days?

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Crazy days

  1. The dog in that picture is so cute! Glad the dogs are safe; it can be scary enough when you lose a dog and worse when it’s someone else’s. Hope you have relaxing long weekend. I’m planning a walk and some visiting and just the usual apart from that. :)

Leave a Reply

